How do you like your eggs in the morning?

Over time, and I give myself credit where it’s due, I have managed to conquer eggs at breakfast; fried; boiled; poached; and scrambled. Now, it sounds easy but I’m not talking about the cheeky tricks, I’m talking about back to basics with egg and pan.

The eggs I’ve been making most recently are scrambled, but with some extra flavour. I was literally playing around one morning wondering how to make my breakfast more interesting – I had eggs, spinach, garlic and seasoning. Voila!

For one person:

  • 1 or 2 eggs, beaten
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • pinch of paprika
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 or 2 cloves of garlic
  • bread (if you want it on toast – I like brown)
  • butter or olive oil

Easy:

  1. heat up the butter, or oil, in frying pan
  2. chop and gently fry the garlic for about 3 minutes
  3. add the spinach and mix in allowing it to wilt
  4. turn the heat right down on low then add the eggs
  5. get your toast on
  6. keeping the heat on low, stir the eggs as they begin to cook and then scramble
  7. add the pepper, salt and paprika
  8. when toast is ready, get your spread on. I go for butter – classic
  9. the eggs are ready when they look fluffy and still a bit moist – if they’re flaking and crumbling, they’ve been done for too long – and then put them on the toast
  10. feel free to add more seasoning if you so wish and enjoy!

The important thing with scrambled eggs is to keep the eggs on that low heat so it results with them being light and soft. One could argue that this makes a signature quick dish a little more complex, but I beg to differ. While the eggs are chillin’ out in the pan, this allows you to get everything else in check – everything in good time!

If garlic is a little much for you at breakfast, this dish also makes a great lunch – but I do insist you give it ago!

 

Leave a Reply

